RMAF MIG 29 @ Subang Airport

29 05 2008

Work stopped at Subang Airport when a pair of Royal Malaysian Air Force Sukhoi 30MKM MiG 29 (Fulcrum) visited us for a round of aerobatics over Subang Airport. I managed to capture some still pictures and a decent video with my camera.

Ok, maybe the still pictures were not so decent but the aircraft is recognizable. Hey, I only had my pocket camera with me. I am hoping they will pay us another visit today. It would be a nice break from the normal routine.

In case you’re wondering why they are practicing, I am guessing it is in preparation for the upcoming King’s Birthday celebrations. Time to charge the camera batteries and get some sleep.

Footnote:

This article originally carried the title RMAF Sukhoi…. but some one commented on my youtube account that it looks more like a Fulcrum. After careful examination of my pictures I now stand corrected. By the way I have always thought “Fulcrum” is an apt name for a bird of war. It has one of the highest rate of turn (23.5 degrees/second) of any fighter jets. And at 252 metres/second, it is also one of the highest rate of climb of any fighter jets. This means it could make a U-turn in 8 seconds and reach an altitude of 48,000 feet in just 1 minute!

The Mig’s were at it again today but I was too busy to photograph them.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

