George Carlin Dies at 71

23 06 2008

Yes George Carlin is dead, and he would have liked for the headlines to be that way. Direct. George Carlin is DEAD, not “passed away” or “no more with us”. Many of you probably haven’t heard of George Carlin but he is to me one of the original and most sincere stand up comedian I know. He is famous for mentioning the “7 unmentionable words on TV” on TV. Huh? Go figure. Robin Williams, another stand up comedian whose jokes I love has always been “decent” but George took it upon himself to breach the lines of decency, morality and obscenity. I cannot write a more appropriate epitaph than to showcase some of his best performance here. I personally liked this one where he talked about “language” and the art of “beating around the bush”.

I think he has a point there. By trying to “smooth the language over” we have lost the art of speaking our minds….or should I say the courage? See, even my title (and Yahoo headlines) says “George Carlin dies at 71” instead of simply “George Carlin is dead”. We have programmed ourselves to be overly nice that we have lost the knack to be direct, confrontational. And to my boss who today said to me, “It’s the way things are done in this company, we cover each other, smooth things over” (with the proper language I might add), to my boss I say, “To hell with it, just say what you mean and mean what you say”.

Here is George again talking about White People,

And finally if you have the time, his 1978 classic in which he mentioned the “7 umentionable words on TV” on TV. He was actually arrested and freed on a US$150 bail for mentioning those words on TV in 1972.

Rest in peace George. Hope you’re having a blast now.

Actions

Information

16 responses

24 06 2008
hysperia

Rest in peace? Isn’t that being overly nice? Isn’t that NOT saying what you mean? Which is, George is dead and he can’t rest peacefully or otherwise. He ain’t restin’. He’s DEAD.

24 06 2008
LinuxGuru

NOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooo

We’ll miss you George… =’-(

24 06 2008
cflowers23

Carlin is the face of a comedic generation that is almost completely gone. All we really have left from that 1960s greenich village scene is Bill Cosby and Woody Allen. I can see the marquee in heaven tonight- Featured Tonight- Lenny Bruce, Richard Pryor and just added George Carlin! RIP

24 06 2008
dickadcock

Thanks. Well said and done.
Dick

24 06 2008
25tolife

I bet he is down there, screaming up at us…
Will miss the guy, alot.. third week on my new job, first time I cried in the office…

24 06 2008
25tolife

I bet he is down there, screaming up at us…
Will miss the guy, alot.. third week on my new job, first time I cried in the office…

24 06 2008
jugdar

I’m just very upset about it!

Nice text!

24 06 2008
oregonnerd

Odd, you know…that evolution of the “toilet paper” thing? Here in the Rogue Valley I think it’s still most commonly called “ass-wipe”. Sure pisses off a lot of the would-be East-Coasters…
–Glenn
8]

24 06 2008
Crap!! George Carlin is Dead. - Interfaith forums

[…] Crap!! George Carlin is Dead. It is indeed a sad day. Much less funny today than it was yesterday, when Carlin was still alive. Dammit. George Carlin Dies at 71 Virtualmystic […]

24 06 2008
George Carlin is Dead « Grins and Clockwork

[…] person here does a great job of making a post in his […]

24 06 2008
salobrena

The Great George Carlin is dead. Fuck. Just yesterday I listened to a recording by him called, “Some people are stupid” and wondered what he was doing now. I loved his views on language.
:(

24 06 2008
kanadianbakin

Thanks for the vids, will watch every one and more.

24 06 2008
blackliberal

I loved George Carlin!

He was proud to be the man that he was and he made no apologies for his views on every and anything..lol.

And for a young generation, still searching for heroes I’m proud to say that George Carlin would certainly make my list…

24 06 2008
oh2btigger

nice tribute to him! His jokes were funny because they were true!!!

24 06 2008
George Carlin Is Dead | Comments from Left Field

[…] And that’s how he would have wanted us to say it. […]

24 06 2008
George Carlin Is Dead « Liberty Street

[…] George Carlin Is Dead Jump to Comments And that’s how he would have wanted us to say it. […]

Leave a Reply

