Wedding Shoot

1 09 2008

Yesterday was my first time shooting at a Chinese wedding dinner . . . no not a mafia style shooting where the groom gets blown away just as he was saying ” I do” but instead I was invited by Yong Hua to shoot some photographs at the wedding of his friend. The wedding was held at Saloma Theatre Restaurant in Kuala Lumpur. Overall the experience was good but I would have rather had an opportunity to shoot at the wedding ceremony itself which I think would be more interesting. Thanks to Yong Hua for the experience and to the bride and groom, Alfred and Feng, here’s wishing you a long and happy life in wedded bliss.

The Groom

The Groom

The Bride & Groom

The Bride & Groom

Receiving an Ang Pau

Receiving an Ang Pau

Clapping girl

Clapping girl

Yong Hua gave a Yo-Yo performance but I have been instructed not to post any pictures of it. I must say he is very talented. We left the place at about midnight after most of the guest had left. I am quite happy with the pictures I got but I think it will be a long time before I get good enough to market my photographs. Except for “receiving Ang Pau” which has been cropped, none of the pictures posted here were manipulated.

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 09 2008
tzywen

wedding dinners should be a challenge because of the low light conditions. did you bring ur sb800? I’m guessing you used your 80-200mm for most of the photos here?

2 09 2008
virtualmystic

you guessed right Tzy Wen….although I brought along a borrowed 17-50mm F2.8 lense, most of the pics were shot with the 80-200mm nikkor. My arm is still sore from carrying that weight around. Who needs weight training?

2 09 2008
nenebubuchacha

out of topic –

Go to http://www.cbox.ws/
register, copy paste the html link to ur sidebar.
better tagboard.

2 09 2008
tzywen

The 80-200mm looks good because it blurs out the background and make the subjects stand out. A good wide angle lens would be the nikon 14-24 f2.8 i think. Then you can capture the whole family on a table in one shot.

The weight was probably worth the result ;)

3 09 2008
nenebubuchacha

I still feels that your pics are a little underexposed.
After viewing from 2 separate monitors.

my point of view! haha…. anyone agrees? haha

3 09 2008
virtualmystic

(Yong Hua), Thanks for the comment . . . after reviewing my pictures I will have to agree with you. Some of my pictures are slightly underexposed. Not that I like overexposed shots but I will have to practice a little more on my shooting techniques.

Leave a Reply

