“Get Lost!”

4 09 2008

I have been told to do so many a times (I dunno why, I am such a nice person) but found it hard to do so. However there have been times when I have found myself a little lost when driving in unfamiliar territory. But tonight I made my first GPS assisted trip ever. The Global Positoning System has been around for decades and available to the public as a position determination and guidance system for at least a decade. You can read more about it here. I first tried to load my Nokia 5500 Sport (read its reviews here) with a navigation program about a year ago but it failed to operate on my phone. My interest was peeked again a couple of days ago when a colleague of mine bought a GPS enabled phone for his wife and was reading up on the GPS system. I got the help of another colleague to install the Garmin navigation program and a map database into my phone. I then used a borrowed Garmin GPS receiver to pair up with my phone.

Garmin GPS10

Garmin GPS10

Then tonight I had the chance of using it on a drive into Kuala Lumpur to send one of my cousins back home. Although I am very familiar with the route I was going to take i decided to let the GPS system guide me. . . . or so I thought. Right from the beginning it directed me to use a highway located behind my house which I do not normally use. I headed instead for my usual route and the navigation system recalculated and attempted again to guide me to my destination. Overall I would say it did the job pretty well. It was quite accurate in calculating waypoints and intersections wher ei would have to make a turn. It was also reasonably quick in recalculating another route when I choose to disobey it’s instructions to turn. I later realised why it chose the use of highways. I had asked it to base it’s navigation on “time saving”.

Nokia 5500 Sport

Nokia 5500 Sport

It was quite cool to find out the statistics of my first GPS aided trip. My average speed while in motion was just 45.7 kilometres per hour while the average speed for the whole journey 30.8 km/h. My fastest speed was just over 80 km/h. My total journey time was about 35 minutes in which time I depleted almost half of charge in my phone’s battery. I guess the backlight override function should be left “off: if I want to conserve power. Considering that I started my journey to the city at 8.30 p.m, I still spent about a third of my journey being at a standstill. Over the next few days I shall try to use the GPS and decide whether I will purchase the receiver unit from my friend who has offered to sell it to me.

The Garmin GPS10 only comes witha “In car charger” which can be quite a handicap. This means you cannot bring it on long hiking, bicycle or motorbike riding trips before you need to find a 12 volt power source, typically a car’s battery and electrical system voltage. The later model Garmin GPS10x comes with a USB charging port which makes it much more convenient.

Nowadays, technology makes it very hard for you to get lost. . . . even when you’re told to do so. Hahaha!

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 09 2008
nenebubuchacha

total cost how much?
im interested leh.

5 09 2008
virtualmystic

There is a friend of mine who is selling the Garmin GPS10x for RM300. The one I am using now is the older GPS10 which another friend is offering to me if I choose to buy it. He has not quoted me his price.

Leave a Reply

