Clear Blue Skies

4 10 2008
Clear Blue Skies

Clear Blue Skies

A photo outing and search for clear blue skies on a dark rainy Saturday morning led Yong Hua and I to this place. Where is it? Come back later to find out where it is and how our day went. I will have more updates and pictures soon and get ready for a good laugh.

By the time I picked Yong Hua up at 7  a.m it had already been raining heavily for an hour and was still raining. In fac this friend cancelled because of the rain and it was just the two of us. We dorve out to Klang looking for someplace to eat but most of the shops were closed.  At this juncture, my young friend wanted to change our destination (which he had initially suggested) when he heard that it was an 80 kilometre journey from Petaling Jaya. But since he could not come up with an alternate destination and I was wasting fuel going around in circles around Klang town (not something most people would gladly admit to have done hahaha) I pointed my trusty car Northward and headed for our original destination. My aunt and uncle used to live around the same area and it was one of my stomping grounds when I was a kid.

Canon's of Bukit Melawati

Canon

It was still raining lightly when we got into Kuala Selangor so I decided that the first order of things was to get some breakfast. The last time I was in this town was to help my aunt execute the will and wishes of her late husband. She still owns the small house just outside the centre of town. We had breakfast in a kopitiam which served simple food from a very small menu. The french toast I ordered was actually very moist and delicious. After breakfast we headed up to Bukit Melawati. The Canon’s protecting the Melawati fort had always made for good photography but I found them in a sorry state with rubbish strewn all around. I could only manage to take a few pictures before I gave up. Besides it was STILL drizzling hard. The prospect of finding clear blue skies today was looking very slim indeed. Here are some pictures I managed to take up on the hill.

Black & White

Black & White

Macro

Macro

I did not see many of the famous monkeys that populated Bukit Melawati until we were about to drive off in search of greener pastures and bluer skies. A family had stopped further up past the old tree you see in the pictures above and started to feed the monkeys and they started to come out in droves attracted by the food on this cold dreary morning. When I saw them I immediately had an idea for a great advertisement campaign!

Bad hair day? Can’t get that Look?

Worry no more with Brylcreem Super Strong Gel. Your hair stays up all day long! Hehehe!

Before Brylcreem

Before Brylcreem

With Brylcreem

With Brylcreem

Sorry Yong Hua, I could not resist. I am sure most of you will agree it’ll make a great ad. Hehehe!

Driving out of the town of Kuala Selangor we crossed the Selangor River after which the town was named. “Kuala”  in malay means river mouth, hence Kuala Selangor is the town at the mouth of the Selangor River. We came by a small fishing village on the banks of the river and stopped to take some pictures.

By the time we arrived at the riverside most of the fishing activities had ceased for the day. Other than a few fishermen mending their boats for the next day’s trip out the jetties were deserted. I would have loved to have been here earlier in the morning when they bring in their catch and the jetty alive with activity. Evidence of their catch were seen everywhere as there were lots of fish being dried on large wiremesh trays. Still no blue sky. So we left and headed for our original destination. The town of Sekinchan, which Yong Hua said held the promise of Clear Blue Skies as never seen before. Northward!

We arrived in the town of Sekinchan at about half past eleven in the morning but thankfully it was not yet hot. Perhaps the morning long rain had eased the temperatures a little. Just north of town we turned right into a road cutting thru paddy fields. Lo and behold, green pastures and clear blue skies!

Except for a crop to rid of an irrigation drain, the picture above was not edited and shows the colours as I my camera saw it today. For a while, the air we breathed smelled wonderful and I felt at one with nature. More pictures.

wildflowers

wildflowers

Satisfied we headed back for the dirty grey skies of the city and a late lunch. I am planning another trip out here in a few months time when the paddy mature and turn bright yellow. Anyone?

Finally, did you that the title of this blog is taken from an iconic song written in 1926? Yes there is a famous song called “blue skies”. Here is Willie Nelson covering the song . . .

Actions

Information

7 responses

4 10 2008
tzywen

haha let me guess… somewhere near kuala selangor?

4 10 2008
virtualmystic

Good guess Tzy Wen, have you been there before? I am planning to go again when the paddy fields mature and turn bright yellow.

4 10 2008
nenebubuchacha

what’s the good laugh?

I also have.!

5 10 2008
tzywen

yes, passed by there before on the way to pangkor. the green fields just amazes me haha when will they turn yellow? count me in if i’m in kl!

5 10 2008
nenebubuchacha

revenge!…

7 10 2008
densemy

I’ll come with you… those wide open padi fields have always fascinated me from an artistic point of view

dennis

8 10 2008
keithkyp

Wow, like the black & white tree picture the most; another good piece of art …

Count me in for your next trip! I wanna join. Miss out the last few trips before. It’s time to make up for the loss. Haha :o

Leave a Reply

