My Borneo Adventure Part 1

23 02 2010

I have just returned from a holiday in the State of Sarawak. I arrived in Kuching the state capital on the 2nd day of Chinese New Year. And from then on just fell in love with the place. Albiet being a long holiday I found Kuching to be a very clean and interesting city. I will continue with this post soon but for now a picture I took from Kuching International Airport.

If I am not mistaken the mountain in the distance is Santubong which I intend to climb on my next trip back to this wonderful city.

Kuching Tunes

On my arrival in Kuching airport I was picked up by my friend and colleague Woon Hwan. He was already waiting for me at the airport. we went to town and had a few drinks at the Khatulistiwa Cafe on the riverfront. It’s a bit run down but apparently it offers the best views of sunset over the riverfront. The upper floor was not open so we sat on the ground floor sipping our drinks.



Before arriving in Kuching I had already booked myself a room in the Tune Hotel for a night. The room cost me RM23 (don’t really believe you can get a room for RM9.99 as published) plus admin fee of RM 9.99. Then I opted for 12 hours of air conditioning for an extra RM12 plus tax and towel plus toiletries which cost me another RM5. They don’t really trust customers here so they take another RM5 as deposit just in case you run off with their towels. All told I paid RM56 for the use of the room. Not bad but not if you wish to pamper yourself with a bit of luxury. If you are thinking of using the soap and shampoo kit that comes with the towel, you would want to bring along a knife or a pair of scissors. There is no perforation to help you tear these small slippery packets of soap. I ended up using my teeth as i did not bring any soap with me.

The room itself is pretty small. There is just enough room for a bed and a smallish side table. The toilet is nearly as big as the room but very clean. The only complaint I had was that there was no hot water to my shower when I checked in. I guess you can’t ask for much in a budget hotel. A couple who checked in before me had expected there to be complimentary bottled water waiting for them in their room! You should be lucky they don’t charge you to use the shower and toilets! hahahaha!

For those intending to ‘trick” the card reader in the room by slotting in your own credit card sized card, think again. It’s actually a radio frequency card reader much like the ones in your passports and smart cards. The air conditioning starts up the minute you slot in your card and the system starts deducting your “air conditioning credits”. The good part is that when you leave the room and remove the card, the air conditioning stops and they stop deducting your credits. So the 12 hours I bought was just enough for my use till the next morning. The downside – you cannot switch off the air conditioning unless you take out the card. Then you lose all power to your room.




Actions

Information

2 responses

4 03 2010
johnmax89

This is nice, the gang and I also bought tickets to KK and Kuching for one week on this coming July. Try to explore the world which another side of us.

Sadly maybe will be cancel if mas got bridging course for us.

4 03 2010
virtualmystic

good plan. If the trip is on and I am free, i might even go along with you guys. Both Kuching and KK are very different cities but nice in their own unique way.

Leave a Reply

